The Unity That Matters Most Will Never Be Open to a Vote

Scotland vote

One of God’s best blessings to us is that we cannot see the future. To do so would rob the best surprises that await us of some deep joy even as it could easily cast us into danger and even despair as we agonized over difficult waters that we have no need or strength yet to navigate.

That said, as I write today, I wonder how tomorrow’s vote will go. By the time you read this, we’ll all know, and the election will be old news.

Oh, you didn’t know an election was being held tomorrow? Well, for you, it’s probably not. Nor for me.

But tomorrow Scotland’s voters will cast a vote “for” or “against” independence for Scotland. For 307 years, since the Act of Union, Scotland has been united with England as Great Britain (later including Wales and Northern Ireland in the United Kingdom). But if voters tomorrow say Yea, Scotland will “secede.”

I have little right to an opinion (although if I wanted a hyphen, I’d be by ancestry an English-American, but I don’t, and I won’t push that!). I do think the Scots should have the right to make the decision.

Hey, I’m a Texan. A 2009 poll showed that two-thirds of Texans believe that when the state joined the United States, it stipulated the right to secede if the need ever arose. (That is actually a myth, though dearly held; the “Lone Star State” does indeed possess the right to divide into five states, should the voters ever so choose.)

And, of course, Texas did indeed secede at one point, but the federal government was pretty ticked off about it.

All of that just jumped to my mind when I read about the referendum in Scotland.

Scotland really can choose to leave the British union. (And by a “simple” majority vote! How simple-minded is that rule when the issue is so large!?)

The decision is theirs. I just hope they make the right one and stay put.

Partly because I love Great Britain, if for no other reason (and there are many) that when England fought alone against the Nazis for over two years, she paid a horrible price, and the world will always be in her debt. What’s bad for England, I do not like. Partly because “independence” may be the Scots’ decision but it holds massive consequences for the British, European, and world economy, for Britain and the world militarily (NATO, nuclear weapons, ports, and oil), and the global fight against terrorism, and more. I mean, really, could you find a more stupid time to do anything, even in the name of freedom, that makes free nations weaker?

I hope Scotland’s voters have enough sense to realize that being free means at times willingly curtailing your freedom to help freedom’s larger cause.

I like it when on rare occasions we see people celebrating what really unites them. It blesses us all when free people actively choose to be more united and not more divided.

Jesus will love the Scots whichever way they go, but even a very quick look at John 17 will show exactly what our King’s will is for unity in His kingdom. No election needed.

 

        You’re invited to visit my website at http://www.CurtisShelburne.com!

 

 

Copyright 2014 by Curtis K. Shelburne. Permission to copy without altering text or for monetary gain is hereby granted subject to inclusion of this copyright notice.

Comments are disabled.

